Hmmm...

A place for general chatter about games in progress, games completed, strategy advice, bug reports, or really anything at all that relates in some vague way to RSW.
LordBaldy

Hmmm...

Post by LordBaldy »

First of all I'll just say hi to everyone, I played my first PBM around 1984/85 back in school when a friend brought in his UNITED turn sheets (that was a "soccer" management game), WOW! what a revelation that was, playing people all over the country on what seemed to me at the time to be a super computer was an amazing experience and I was hooked, once I got my first job I started playing lots of other war/space/RPG PBM's, the thrill of coming home from work to find another envelope of turns was ummm...thrilling! OK maybe that sounds a bit sad and probably rose tinted nostalgia, but I miss those days!

Anyway around 1995 I seemed to give up on all that and got into console gaming, never playing again, but with the on-set of middle age my reactions have gone and I don't enjoy playing anymore, so early this year I decided to explore the possibility of getting back into the hobby, obviously things have changed to e-mail and web based, but I've got back into Diplomacy and recently football management, really enjoying it and want to now try some space based action, and here I am!

I've downloaded the rules PDF and will spend a few weeks studying them before attempting a game, but in the meantime a few questions for someone to kindly answer.

1) How serious are the players on here? I mean in terms of playing properly and not dropping out? My Diplomacy experience too date makes me think that the ease of joining games nowadays means that people are just as quick to leave at short notice and try the next thing available.

2) What's the geographical spread like? I'm in England and presume people have no problem with different timezones.

3) What's this weeks winning lotto numbers going to be?

Anyway, when I'm ready I'll give it a go and hope to have some fun!